NOAA's National Weather Service
Weather Alerts for Mohave AZ   (AZC015)

icn  FIRE WEATHER WATCH
MOHAVE AZ   (AZC015)

Effective: Thu, Dec 14, 2017 09:00am MST Severity: Moderate
Updated: Wed, Dec 13, 2017 03:41am MST Urgency: Future
Expires: Thu, Dec 14, 2017 07:00pm MST Certainty: Possible

Areas Affected: Lake Mead NRA, Colorado River-AZ side
 
Alert:
...FIRE WEATHER WATCH IN EFFECT FROM THURSDAY MORNING THROUGH
THURSDAY AFTERNOON FOR STRONG NORTH WINDS AND LOW RELATIVE
HUMIDITY...
The National Weather Service in Las Vegas has issued a Fire
Weather Watch, which is in effect from Thursday morning through
Thursday afternoon for the Colorado River Valley.
* AFFECTED AREA...In Arizona...Fire weather zone 101.In
California...Fire weather zone 229.In Nevada...Fire weather
zone 466.
* TIMING...Winds will increase Thursday morning, peak in the late
morning and early afternoon before decreasing by evening time.
* WIND...North 20 to 30 MPH with gusts up to 50 MPH.
* HUMIDITY...10 to 15 percent.
* IMPACTS...Any fires that develop will likely spread rapidly.
Outdoor burning is not recommended.
Instructions:
A Fire Weather Watch means that critical fire weather conditions
are forecast to occur. Listen for later forecasts and possible
Red Flag Warnings.

 

icn  WIND ADVISORY
MOHAVE AZ   (AZC015)

Effective: Thu, Dec 14, 2017 03:00am MST Severity: Minor
Updated: Wed, Dec 13, 2017 03:37am MST Urgency: Expected
Expires: Thu, Dec 14, 2017 07:00pm MST Certainty: Likely

Areas Affected: Lake Havasu and Fort Mohave; Lake Mead National Recreation Area
 
Alert:
...WIND ADVISORY IN EFFECT FROM 2 AM PST /3 AM MST/ TO 6 PM PST
/7 PM MST/ THURSDAY FOR EXTREME SOUTHERN NEVADA...THE COLORADO
RIVER VALLEY AND EASTERN SAN BERNARDINO COUNTY...
The National Weather Service in Las Vegas has issued a Wind
Advisory, which is in effect from 2 AM PST /3 AM MST/ to 6 PM PST
/7 PM MST/ Thursday.
* TIMING...Winds will increase with and behind a cold front after
2 AM Thursday and continue through the afternoon.
* WINDS...North 25 to 35 MPH with gusts 40 to 55 MPH.
* IMPACTS...Strong cross winds will make driving difficult...
especially for high profile vehicles. Use extra caution. Strong
winds over the open waters will make the lake water choppy and
hazardous...and may result in high waves which could tip or
swamp smaller craft.
Instructions:
Drivers should use caution and be prepared for sudden wind gusts. Take
action to secure trash cans...lawn furniture...and other loose or
lightweight outdoor objects. Boaters should avoid the open waters
and stay close to shore or around protected areas.